Posted by: Sean | March 2, 2009

Katafray Project: Katafray’s First Points

I knew it had to come from here somewhere...

I knew it had to come from here somewhere...

This was a tricky one to work out.

For me, this choice was sort of role-play focused but more about the overall role I wanted to play than any one particular minor point. I knew that Katafray’s core concepts: Duty, strength and loyalty all tied into the protection tree. Plus, this gave our group a guaranteed tank.So there was a bit of game role thinking in there as well.

Since I was looking at building up into a tanking build (screw the whole idea of levelling builds, man! Learn to play your spec as you level) I had really three options:

  • Blessing of Kings Places a Blessing on the friendly target, increasing total stats by 2% for 10 min. Players may only have one Blessing on them per Paladin at any one time.
  • Divine Strength – Increases your total strength by 3%.
  • Deflection – Increases your parry chance by 1% (and is actually over in the retribution tree, but more parry is always good).

None of these really leapt out at me character wise – They’re all pretty functional and none tie overly into the concept of a snooty upper-class draenei translator.

Normally, then, this would be easy: Blessing of Kings gives me a new spell with excellent function, which would let me improve my whole group and my own playing. There’s only one catch: In 3.1, the talent is going bye-bye . Whoops. This doesn’t totally rule out taking it, but it kind of makes for a dull option since I’ll just need to take a new one straight afterwards anyhow.

So Divine Strength, or Deflection? Both are totally passive options here – A little boring, to be honest. In the end, however, I want to get to the funky cool protection talents down the tree like Blessing of Sanctuary quickly. The pendulum shifted to Divine Strength.

Except that, y’know what? Screw it. Blessing of Kings is cool. I’ll still be using it anyway later on (I understand it will just become a trainable skill), so why not learn how to use it now anyway? I’ll simply have to reset my talent points when I get there.

Blessing of Kings it is. Now to write up a little ritual for it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

