Posted by: blogatelle | February 25, 2009

Katafray Project: Discussion and New Assignment

Katafray team. You have two new objectives.

First: Please leave a comment here or edit this post to put forward your opinions on the first experiment and what it proved/indicated. You may reply to other project members/the public. Discussion is encouraged.

Second: Please write a post describing your first talent point, and why you placed it there.

Go.

Edit: [Katafray’s Perspective | Emi’s Perspective | Asrai’s Perspective | Fegari’s Perspective]

Responses

  1. Is there ever going to be a horde version of this?

    Or maybe a series where you drag an interested newbie through the ropes? Like… me?

  2. We do not intend to run a similar Horde experiment ourselves, but encourage others to try such a thing as well.

    As for the latter, not exactly. Stay tuned.

  3. I always have to go first. Why do I have to go first? (Because I’m Katafray, I guess.)

    OK. Here’s how I see it.

    Katafray saw 11 people in her time playing.
    Emi had 16.
    Asrai had a whopping 44.
    Fegari only had 2, but there were technical issues.

    I’m willing to throw out Fegari as an outlier and say that this confirms the statistics we knew before: Humans and night elves dominate the Alliance side for character choices on PVE servers. Furthermore, despite Asrai’s lack of RP, this is purely due to random chance. She had a poor night.

    What we learned is that role-play is erratic. Sometimes there’s lots of it, othertimes there’s barely any. The way to get the most is to play the highest raw numbers, and humans and night elves have those numbers.

  4. What I basically get out of this is that there’s a dearth of good roleplay in any of the starting zones. Sure, Asrai came by 44 people, and Katafray and Fegari both had really great scenes with really awesome players, but no one found consistent, good roleplay across a lot of different players.

    I have higher hopes for future experiments.

    Also, I really want to do a Horde experiment, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. There’s certainly not one in the works at present.

  5. I’m only partially in agreement with Jess when it comes to the lack of good roleplay in starting zones.

    While I do agree that it was lacking, I was greatly disappointed by the fact that it wasn’t just the low-level people not doing any RP. There were a giant number of level 50+ in Goldshire, and NONE of them were RPing in any fashion.

    It doesn’t really set the stage appropriately, in my opinion. New RPers would be greatly discouraged from this server as a whole, I think, and it’s disheartening. We shall see what the experiment reveals as time goes on, I suppose.

  6. I’m just desperate to catch you guys “in the act” as it were. I’m fascinated by this anthropolgical approach to my server, especially because I came to ThoBro intially for roleplay.

    *jaded laugh*

    I would love to see the attempts being made and I would really love to observe the responses to you of other old time ThoBros that I have known for so long.

  7. Okay, so I’m a little angry as I type this so I might be somewhat curt and to the point; I had about ten paragraphs written when my browser decided to shut down for no explicable reason and I lost the whole damned shebang. If my tone is a little pointed, I apologize in advance. I fancy myself a writer, do it semi-professionally, and yet tend to dislike having to write. Oh, the irony!

    Especially when I have to write the same thing twice. Grr!

    Okay, moving on.

    I tend to agree with Sean’s assessment of the facts and Pixelated Executioner’s sentiment; I think based on what we witnessed from Asrai’s encounter of forty-odd-some-people and my continued numbers to be posted shortly of thirty-odd-some, we can fairly accurately say that the humans and the night elves still dominate the Alliance character map, with the space squids being very close behind.

    Sean further notes that we can draw a conclusion from the first experiment that role-play is erratic; I think we all knew that going in, but I should note that I agree entirely. The process of weeding out fellow role-players, while sometimes assisted by addons or in-game channels (nearly ever RP and RP-PVP server regardless of faction has a public channel named ‘RP’ for instance, which I have found can be useful to help establish role-play contacts), is mostly a random one.

    So much so that if I took anything away from the first experiment, it was that it reinforced something I think must of us were already aware of; you will find more role-play when you instigate the scene than waiting for it happen. It tips the scales in an astronomical percentage. If you really want to role-play on Warcraft, throw caution to the wind and work a little social elbow grease in to the situation. Your odds will be much higher.

    I have to further agree with Pixelated Executioner’s sentiment about the beginning area zones; I don’t really feel that they’re a fair litmus test for the server in general. Players looking at Thorium Brotherhood as a potential role-play home-away-from-home shouldn’t be basing their choice of server or character race based off of these initial experiments.

    The first ten levels are really barely more than a heartbeat in the life of a character and a lot of people are really just trying to hurry their way through to the next zone where they feel like the ‘real game begins’.

    I’d request that our readers let us get a few more steps in before anyone judges the server to harshly. The more data, the better.

    And now I can’t be all that upset; I think rewriting it actually turned out a better product. Still, annoys me very much when that happens.

    Grr!

  8. @ytrahne

    “Is there ever going to be a horde version of this?

    Or maybe a series where you drag an interested newbie through the ropes? Like… me?”

    While it wasn’t conducted as an experiment, left to my own devices as I have previously noted, I’m a Horde player and I’d be willing to share my impressions based on my experiences on Emerald Dream.

    That being said, the opinions of one person aren’t entirely objective, so there you have it. I wouldn’t be opposed to conducting a second experiment Horde-side when the Katafray Project reaches a natural conclusion, though that won’t be for a long while yet.

  9. Travis:

    I have to further agree with Pixelated Executioner’s sentiment about the beginning area zones; I don’t really feel that they’re a fair litmus test for the server in general. Players looking at Thorium Brotherhood as a potential role-play home-away-from-home shouldn’t be basing their choice of server or character race based off of these initial experiments.

    Absolutely. The idea of this experiment was to test the zones, not the realm.


Leave a Reply

Categories

