Posted by: Jess Riley | January 27, 2009

Katafray Project Experiment #1: Eme’s Perspective

When it came to the dwarf and gnome starting area, I attempted to interact with at least sixteen people (after sixteen, I lost count). Let’s face it: the area was fairly packed.

Unfortunately, out of all these people? Technically speaking, I got four people roleplaying with me, but one of them was an extremely short scene and two of them seemed to be more like polite non-RPers brushing me off without seeming inappropriate.

One of them was a half-naked gnome rogue, which could have been interesting, but they just ran off when I tried to interact with them.

emeOverall, my experience was a bit poor, however, in Kharanos, something changed that put a different spin on things: I got a good, long scene with someone. Of course, that one person was a draenei paladin who happened to be passing through. With that in mind, I think I’ll have to throw myself behind Sean’s experience; the draenei seem to be where it’s at, on this sever.

The draenei in question was a good roleplayer, but I do suspect that he was deliberately being sociable because he was looking for people to join his guild. After all, his first order of business was to invite me to join. I have joined, and I intend to discuss the guild a little further on the blog (with permission from the guild master/officers, depending on how much detail I go into).

My experience finding roleplay was a bit awkward and I didn’t find a whole lot. As such, there’s not much to say here.

I’d like to take a moment, though, to discuss the other main thing that came up in the scene – actually getting into character for the first time. It was a long time ago that we first thought up the Katafray Project and our characters for it. As such, getting into character after so long of not even thinking about it was just as hard as trying to find any roleplay in the dwarf/gnome area.

I don’t know how anyone else deals with this, but I personally like to try to investigate the mind of my character through music. Sometimes, it’s hard to find something that evokes the right mood, but sometimes it will occur to me right away and just not go away – when working on a writing project, it’s not uncommon for me to listen to the same song over and over again, and then come to completely dislike it for a while afterwards.

The case of Eme was doubly awkward, because I couldn’t find any music to help me get in character. However, I hold that is a good system, and I hope that so far, I’ve managed to play well, and that soon I’ll find a better grounding point for the character.

Responses

  1. I’d like to take a moment, though, to discuss the other main thing that came up in the scene – actually getting into character for the first time. It was a long time ago that we first thought up the Katafray Project and our characters for it. As such, getting into character after so long of not even thinking about it was just as hard as trying to find any roleplay in the dwarf/gnome area.

    Seconded. It wasn’t until I logged back onto Katafray last night that I finally felt like I got her ‘voice’ right.

  2. As far as music goes, you should listen to the Chocobo theme while playing a gnome. It seems fitting. 😛

  3. Music has stirred my soul while playing Warcraft more than once. I still remember when The Two Towers music “Samwise the Brave” (Where Sam gives his speech about why the heroes in the great stories keep going) came on my mp3 player just as I was riding past Stromgarde and had turned the camera towards it. It was literally chilling.

    I always say keep looking. Walking actually stirs up roleplay, surprisingly. People stop and look at you, wondering what’s going on. If you have a RP add on, they tend to get pulled in.

    I remember playing my gnome early on and winding up with a full 5 member group WALKING the distance to Loch Modan, discussing matters of the Horde and Alliance as we made our journey together.

  4. Jess, I don’t know why, but “Hallelujah” seems appropriate for your character. Ideally the Leonard Cohen version.


Leave a Reply

Categories

